04
Mar
10

Letting Go

I’ve been let go a time or two.

Eight or nine years ago I was working for one of those supplement companies. I had moved up from the phones, seen a couple of promotions and there I found myself, feeling important, managing deadlines and expectations and pushing pens; people. It was my first real career job, and when they offered me a demotion or the door I was deflated. Disappointed. Disposable.

Disposable sucks. Like Hyundais and yellow-boxed cameras with only plastic parts.

Luckily for me though, I had been disposed before. The first big letting was parental, and then, the summer before my junior year at State I was let go by love.  My position, eliminated.

I cried a lot and begged his mother to talk some sense into him. Spent several weeks just staring off in space. But then I got bored and got creative. Found a job out of town and a school out of state and eventually I was the one letting go. Getting on with it.

As Christmas is the season of giving I guess my first love called me the first break I flew home. Said he loved me still. Said he loved me enough to let me go find me and I believe Him.

Although it’s scary as hell to walk away from comfortable and into a new state or new state of mind, being let go is not always the same as being let down. In my experience, being let go is most often being set FREE.


1 Response to “Letting Go”


  1. 1 Victor Dantas
    April 30, 2010 at 12:19 am

    Hey Brandi,

    I found your blog through facebook.

    How is it going? How is Zoe and Edwards?


Leave a comment